The (nearly) lost day

So, we had a plan. We were going to get up and head home, popping into Ikea on the way. And we thought we'd stop off and see Dream, too.

Dream was erected in 2008 and unveiled in 2009. It's a memorial to the Sutton Manor Colliery and it can be found just off the M62. We thought it would be a five minute detour but by the time we'd parked up, found our way along the paths and up to the monument it had taken a bit longer. I must say I wasn't mad about it; I'm not that keen on art that requires exposition but I didn't feel it made much sense without some explanation. (And actually not that much even then.) That said, the Minx loved it and I liked being there with her: that was good enough for me.

After that we carried on to Ikea and attempted to "pop in". It didn't quite work out like that, of course, but I did come away with enough candles to see me through Christmas. In the end, then, by the time we got home, the afternoon was mostly done, so there was no drawing and no writing. However, there was time for a swim before we went out to our friends Tony and Emma's for dinner, which was a splendid finish to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.