Derelict Thursday: Dog Bitten Ballet Shoe

Visiting into my childhood dream - watched the ballet show in The Finnish National Opera in Helsinki. My former boss and workmate is the ever energetic General Director of the Opera, Päivi, and we had a nice evening meeting her too.

And saw this lovely ballet Snow Queen.

Before the fantastic, visually overwhelmed ballet show we were taken to a tour by former primaballerina and I saw this ballet dancing shoe. I do not know the name of these in english, maybe you can help me? In finnish these are called kärkitossut as you dance on your toes with these.

Well of course if they are ok.

This shoe obviously is not - maybe a dog has bitten it's top badly. The top is sometimes burned gelatine and so dogs love them... The one shoe was on the wall of shoemaster. They had EVERYTHING by the house...

Oh I had So Wonderful Evening!!!!
Sometimes I wish what life would have turned, if I had deared to continue dancing as I was young. Left to Helsinki or Kuopio to study... But in Finland there is not easy to earn your living being a dancer. And I maybe was not strickt, pedandt and hard working girl enough to be good enough.

But I still love dancing. And ballet.

Ballet especially, even as I understand that it is not too healthy for dancers. In Finland they retire at age 44years... Hard job.

The blip is added to theme Derelict thursday by SarumStroller ;)

Susanna

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.