Buy one, whatever...

I was shopping at Booths with Milly, standing at the deli counter, when she noticed a nearby display: Toblerone, £4.99 or two for six pounds. To her, this was an unarguable bargain, and to me, her soppy dad, it was an opportunity to indulge her, so they went into the trolley.

I've written before - albeit sometime ago - about the fiasco of BOGOFs etc and I won't start ranting again now BUT even if Booths make no profit on the Toblerones when they're two for six pounds, that suggests that the basic cost is three pounds. (I doubt Booths are selling them at cost but bear with me.) That means that when you buy one at £4.99, the profit is £1.99 or around 66%. It just doesn't stack up, does it?

Anyway, suffice to say we took the two Toblerones home. You had to buy one dark and one white and I discovered today that, as you can see from the photo, Milly has already started to tackle the white one. This is not good news for me; I'm supposed to be low carbing but I love dark chocolate and now this beauty is lurking in the kitchen :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.