We Will Remember Them

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them


Taken from 'For the Fallen' by Laurence Binyon (1869-1943)

The inscription in the photograph album which 'Nannie' gave me (as the eldest grandchild) when I was 21, is 'My Father, 1914-1918 War, left hand side'.

He is my Great Grandfather.

I think his name was Frederick Martin (my Grandmother's maiden name) but I know very little about him, and search as I might via the internet, I couldn't find any details... Unfortunately I've also mislaid my hard copy of the family tree that 'Nannie' made some years ago.

Now I have found this photograph, I'm determined to find out more!

The background is a close up picture of the poppies at the Tower of London when I visited on 16th October.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and stars yesterday

I've been called into work for an emergency...so I'll be back later!

Happy Sunday folks :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.