The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Bread and Roses

I write this in the kitchen, while keeping my eye on a cauldron pot of parsnip soup bubbling away in the background. A black cat is weaving around my ankles. So far, so 1950s, apart from the lack of dirty, ragged children....

Quite apt, really, considering the subject: gender inequality. I'd intended to blip the library doors being replaced but that proved a dull topic, so as I passed the Labour Party office window, I paused to read their display, but sadly didn't manage to blip the bit about housework. I think the essence of it was that women in work still do around 17 hours of unpaid housework per week, whereas men do about five. All averages, of course...

I'm feeling quite rough today: a sore throat started last night and I had chest pain too. Fortunately that pain did not last, and I felt well enough to go to work, and to my WEA class. I've got glycerin pastilles, and an evening at home, plus the parsnip and ginger soup to look forward to. I started watching an historical drama series on DVD the other day, only to realise that I'd begun with Disc 2, which would explain why the Japanese had already invaded "Malaya"! Nonetheless, I was gripped, and have bought the book, which is suitably large. It's called Tanamera, by Noel Barber, and has a lurid sunset on the cover. Just what I need right now! The WEA class of next week has been postponed, which means that I now have 2 weeks in which to read 1984, by Orwell. Perhaps I could slip in Tanamera, while also finishing I Capture the Castle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.