Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Hungry Bumble Bee

I found this rather large fellow wandering sleepily around my front room carpet this morning.

I normally just put insects outside when I found them, then I had second thoughts.

he's coming to the end of his life cycle, it's cold, dark and he has no food. He's taking refuge in my flat because its a nice warm place to die.

So I got a Kilner jar from the kitchen, broke off some pieces of Chinese leaf, dipped them in honey and water ped him inside to see what would happen.

I have never witnessed a hungrier insects. Out came the proboscis and away he sucked, drinking up the sugary fluid like a kid with a milk shake.

I'm not sure how long he will last, but for now he is safe and warm and has a full tummy.

More pictures.

I chose the picture with more movement because it captured the enthusiastic feeding frenzy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.