Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Hyper Hyper

Lolita style is a Japanese subculture which owes little to the Nabokov book it takes its name from. The adult women who dress this way are demure and doll-like in the way they present themselves.

I am at Hyper Japan today. An annual party of food, products and entertainment in West London.

Although cuteness is the key, I was rather taken by Gothic Lolita this year, as well as a Scottish couple and a woman I can only imagine was inspired by Manga.

On the subject of Scottishness and Manga, I met a Libyan woman who draws cartoons in order to make friends North of the Border.

Unusual items include soft toys in the shape of burgers and chicken drumsticks. The 'Hello Kitty' style doll called Love Jojo surprised me by removing her head and revealing a chap with considerable beard stubble.

Dancers SIRO-A provided entertainment by music and light.

Here's the full album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.