Watergate

At 8.30 this morning I was pretty sure I'd got my blip. The sky had such wonderful colours and a stillish Derwentwater looked gorgeous. This was just 20 meters from where my van is on the campsite. Up until 4 o'clock this evening it was still top shot but you'll have to see it here because in the end it didn't make the cut.

I'd decided that today was going to be a walking day. So I filled a flask, made some sandwiches and packed it into my camera bag with some chocolate (no kendal mint cake for me). I followed a route into Keswick and through town and came out to the footpath that goes up to Castlehead. A bit of a stiff climb, especially the last bit, but what a view here and here. What a great place to sit and eat your sandwiches too.

Eventually I headed back down through the beechwoods and was delighted to see a red squirrel. No pic I'm afraid, I didn't even have my camera out due to the issues of coming down those slippy rocks at the top. By the time I'd got it out I got a tantalising view then he was gone. A wildlife photographer I am not!

I took the path down to Friar's Crag and walked back to the landing stages stopping frequently for different pics, which you can browse here if you've a mind to.

As I reached Crow Park the sun was almost down so I wandered down to the Watergate (that's what I call it, I imagine it has a name of some kind). The water was higher than the previous time I photographed it and the reflections looked great gradually colouring up as the sun went down.

So that's my blip. I wasn't going to put it up as you'll have seen so many photos of it, but with this sunset, I couldn't do anything else.

It's been a good day with lots of exercise although it seems from my GPS that I've only done 10 Km. It must be lying!

David

I forgot to thank you all for your stars hearts and comments on yeterday's lakeside tree which spent most of the day in the spotlight. I'm very grateful for your support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.