Skip's Blips

By Skip

Overjoyed!

From the expression on this little house sparrow's face, I'm guessing he is overjoyed that I trekked out to refill the feeders at the Bird Buffet. It was mid-afternoon, and they had been empty all day, not because the birds gobble up all the food every day, but because the deer do. Two nights ago, I was checking to make sure everything was locked up and turned off before I headed to bed. Glancing out the back window, I caught a young doe in the process of finishing off what the birds hadn't eaten during the day. She (the doe) spotted me watching her from inside the window a few yards away. You might think that would scare her off, but she calmly returned to her meal. Early the next morning, Bob looked out the window and called up to tell me several deer were sleeping in our back yard. As we watched, they stood, stretched, and ambled away. Maybe they had been hoping for "breakfast in bed."

A cardinal also visited the Bird Buffet this afternoon, snacking on some peanuts in the flowerpot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.