The good old days!!

I think know that the price of petrol was much cheaper in the days when this type of pump was used.

I had a weekend job in the village garage when I was at school and the best dearest petrol was £1 4s 6p 4s 6p a gallon! (in the days of pounds shillings and pence). A few years later my first car was a Mini and I could fill the tank with economy petrol for a fiver, although I hate to think how little I was paid at the time, as I thought that that was expensive!!

We took D to Bishop’s Stortford station this morning to start her homeward journey. She doesn’t normally travel by train, so I was explaining where she needed to go and which train to get, when the chap on the barrier asked if I wanted to go in with her and see that she got on to the correct train. We appreciated his action as she was getting a bit stressed. Brownie points for British Rail customer service!!

All well at this end of the journey, not sure how she will fare at Victoria, when she changes from underground to mainline service. Her sister met her to do that change on the way north last Friday!!!

On the way home we stopped off at the Rolls Royce garage to take some pictures. They opened this new garage a couple of years back and have these old style pumps out front. There was also a rather quaint car which B has blipped.

As you can see the rain has stopped, the sky is blue and the temperature has dropped. Most of the water on the roads from yesterday has drained off, but many of the fields are still flooded.

Busy evening ahead with furniture restoration for me and a trip to Colchester for B.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.