wildinlailand

By wildinlailand

Is this the end?

One of the great things about being a parent is that you can subject your kids to the music of your youth especially when you have got a captive audience in your car. On long journeys I've made them listen to Jeff Wayne's Musical version of HG Wells War of the Worlds. I was a mere 15 when concept album came out in 1978 and drove my own parents mad until I knew the whole thing word for word. I still have the Vinyl version.

Last night was one I'd been waiting for since January when I originally booked the tickets for the stage show version in Manchester. It's the very last tour of the show. Mrs Wild and no 2 son came along too. No 2 son Ciaran was sort of half interested but it was his prize for doing ok in his AS exams. I seldom go to Manchester and even more seldom drive in. Good job it was a quiet Sunday evening.

On to the show. It was spectacular in the least. With holographic Liam Neeson doing the spoken journalist with Brian McFadden, Jason Donovan and Shane Ward (X factor) and Carrie Hope Fletcher belting out the songs and some unknown to me actor doing the HG Wells bits. Great animated back projection married with antique film clips told the story along with the great animatronic Martian fighting machine spitting fire. The whole thing won No 2 over.

HG Wells story is said to be very prophetic and predicts events of the 20th Century, weapons of mass destruction, chemical warfare, world wars, space travel, super powers wanting to dominate others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.