Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Such a bad example

This is our weather today: sun, sun, wind, rain, sun, wind, sun, rain, hail, hail, sun, rain, hail, BIG hail, and now sun (well a setting one).

I've been waiting and waiting to take the boys for some whale watching. The weather just won't hold out for us though.

So when I got off of work the sun was out, and it looked really nice over the ocean. I packed up my boys to head out for Shore Acres.

As we were driving the rain began to come down like you wouldn't believe. Did I turn around? Nope. I knew that today I would finally get the opportunity to capture the mighty waves often caught by my good friend pddesigns (that's her blip by the way).

We pulled into Shore Acres ready to pay our $3 I managed to scrounge up in the house....and low and behold!!!! It's $5 now!! Well, I didn't have $5. I only had $3. There was a machine to put my money in, so I didn't even have a human available to whine at.

So I rolled on through.....and parked. I put a little Taco Bell receipt folded backwards on my window in hopes the rain would be pouring so hard a ranger wouldn't tell the difference. (I am brilliant you see.)

The boys and I jumped out and started heading to the lookout, and I was immediately punished for my naughty behavior with a nasty bit of hail.

We spent a good deal of time out there trying to get a fantastic shot. It was stressful watching my boys run around me so close to the cliffs, but they did well. It did mean I missed a few incredible wave breaks.

The rain was completely unforgiving, so many of my images are trash. The rain also made for a very dim outlook, which bothered me a lot. But I figured out the trick of removing one filter at a time as they got completely soaked.

In the end, I like this shot the best for its clarity, color and lighting. It's actually nice in large too.

And in case you are wondering, the ranger never came by. Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.