Standard issue

My boots.

'Blundstones' (or blundys as they're affectionately known) are standard issue if you're Australian Standard issue too for some New Zealanders. Not too many I suspect, but I'm one of them.

This is the second pair I've ever owned. It took a long time to wear out the first pair and you can see these have been around a while. They're great in rain and mud, work remarkably well under trousers and they have a style all of their own worn with a skirt. Just add black tights with back woolen socks (turned down to cover the tabs). Who would guess? ;-)

My day has been anything but standard issue. I couldn't eat breakfast and phoned the surgeons nurse once I got to work. He has issued me with a non-standard issue sachet. I'm home early, the contents are on board and now I wait. I'm paler than a pale thing and miserable :-(

My appointment with the surgeon is a month closer than it was. His overseas plans have changed and they've been able to change my appointment to mid-July instead of mid-August.

Far from a good day but I'm grateful I had a quick response and help when I need it. Hopefully this will set me right for a while.

I'll shuffle off in my slippers for a lie down. Might even have a warm bath with nice music in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.