a town called E.

By Eej

Not in Kansas anymore ...


Today was the hottest stickiest day of the year so far, and if it was up to me there'd be no repeats. While certain parts of the building I work in are air conditioned, the part that is my workspace is not. Even with fans blowing it still felt like a wet warm blanket in there. So, I left early :)

After dinner I needed to thieve the tomatoes*, which I did quickly while the rumbling grew louder in the distance. The cloud formations were rather magnificent and moving very fast so I popped across the street for a better view. The Beloved joined me and together we looked up while the clouds flew by.
Then, the wind started.
Gales, trees waving wildly.
Our neighbours' flag almost tearing loose from the force.
The sky turned a dark blue, I yelled: 'Is this how Dorothy felt?' as I ran for the door, the Beloved behind me. 'Inside!' I urged him, and he said:


'Hang on, I'm just looking to see if there's any rotation'

!!!

Well, that made me feel SO much better.

And just so I can remind him of this craziness in years to come, here's another sky shot :)



I'll be getting up early for The Netherlands-Japan tomorrow. The recent upsets with favourite teams is rather frightening though :/



*in Dutch: dieven. The act of removing the tiny shoots in the tomato plants armpits. Is there an English term for that? I couldn't find one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.