Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

For Daddy

For Daddy. On Father's Day. With Love. Forever. And. Ever.

My son wanted to wrap Daddy's Father's Day present today. All by himself. Of course his little side kick was there to hold down the wrapping paper as he struggled with the tape. "But Mommy, I can't do it like you" he said in a frustrated huff. "There is no right or wrong way to wrap a present bud, just keep adding tape". The final result made my husband laugh out loud when he saw it. "Wow, did you wrap this yourself?". "Uh-huh, we did", both of the kids nodded with smiles from ear to ear.

As we were sitting around the table eating our hot fudge sundaes, I had a moment and felt the need to express it. "You know, there is nothing that you could do to be a better and or more attentive Dad......without sounding funny about that or anything". "I like how that sounds" my husband responded, "thank you". I felt myself choke up a bit because it is so true. He goes above and beyond every single day. He takes his role as a Daddy so extremely seriously. Our kids know how much they are loved by him. And he knows how much he is adored by them.

A Father's Day to remember. Sundaes with oreos, nuts, hot fudge, whipped cream and a cherry on top. (okay, I'll admit...I had six cherries on top, I love those things).

And a Happy Father's Day to my Dad and to my Father-in-law. Two strong, devoted and loving men who love and support us every day in all that we do. Two Dads who helped create the strong foundation that my husband and I are so fortunate to be standing on today. We love you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.