Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Water Fight

My son filling up his plastic water gun with the hose. A very fitting image for today's series of events. The temperature crept up into the 80's again. Safe to say that summer has officially started here. Dozens and dozens of parks have water features so we chose one and spent the afternoon there.

When we walked into the water park, my son ran in and then just kind of stopped. He was looking around for someone to befriend. Suddenly three little girls approached calling his name. Friends of his from preschool. He turned bright red and became very shy. I think that seeing them outside of the preschool environment was a bit shocking for him. These kinds of things are so good for him. For as loud and wild as he can be, he also has a timid side. Experiences like these are good for his timid side. Ten minutes later, he was running around the water park laughing and smiling without a care in the world.

My daughter didn't want to get splashed or wet. She didn't want to take the hand of one of the preschool girls. She definitely takes a while to warm up in new situations. About an hour in, she suddenly decided that she loved the water and all of the splashing fountains. She ran around and around giggling like crazy. Soaked from head to toe. Feeling like a big girl playing in the water like her big brother.

When we got home and the kids had their rest/snack, the squirt guns came out. I turned on the hose so that they could fill their guns by themselves. We ran around and around and around in the backyard squirting each other. It truly is amazing how much fun squirt gun fights are. And how shocking that cold water feels when you get squirted. As predicted, the hose soon became the star attraction. My son grabbed it and sprayed my daughter. I grabbed it from him and gave it to her. He started running. She turned it on me. ON ME! Here is this tiny little two year old girl drenching me with the hose. I was laughing so hard I could hardly catch my breath. Everywhere I ran, she followed me with the hose. Her laughter was the cutest thing ever. Music to my ears. There is no sound in the world better than a belly laugh.

So yes, tonight's blip of my son filling up his water gun is quite fitting for the water adventures that we had today. And for our family, summer has officially started.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.