La vida de Annie

By Annie

More meds

After the Race for Life yesterday I was on an endorphin high, and really buzzing. I know it was no big deal, not being a "serious" race, but I've never done anything like that before so was really delighted that I managed it. I have been criticised by a few people for going ahead with it while feeling unwell, but the way I see it, I signed up for it as an act of defiance when I was (erroneously) led to believe I had a life-threatening illness, so why would I NOT do it just because of being a bit under par? In any case there was a huge enough medical presence there to deal with dozens of simultaneous heart-attacks etc so I wasn't worried on that score. I did however doze off on the train home...

This morning I was not so good, so much so that I rang the doctor (something I very rarely do - that's for ill people). Expected an appointment next week but no, a cancellation within the hour. Now I have betablockers for high BP and antihistamines for shortness of breath, and a suggestion that most of my symptoms are exacerbated by stress, something I already knew. The only problem is, this list of side effects contains every symptom I have plus a few dozen even scarier ones. Logically I would be better off throwing them in the bin.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.