La vida de Annie

By Annie

Race for life....

...I did it! Despite the illness and having to do it on my own (several offers of accompanying me fell through), I made it round the course and not at the back either, although I chose not to run but to just walk briskly. The atmosphere was great; over 1000 women of all ages, shapes and sizes, fundraising for a charitable cause which affected them all in some way. Many were dressed flamboyantly in pink, sporting frilly tutus, feather boas, tinsel and antennae, and all wore a sign stating who they were doing the race for, which were pinned to a mesh panel at the end. I found it quite moving reading all those names, mine being my Mum who died of breast cancer many years ago. Afterwards Aintree station was awash with pink as the runners made their way home. A good, if hot and tiring day; glad I could do it, and thank you so much to the blippers who sponsored me.

Best viewed large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.