Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Date Day: Part 1

Date Day Part 1:

My husband and I were given a 24 hour date day. Since we couldn't really remember the last time we had 24 hours together, just the two of us, we decided to make each and every minute count.

We started our date downtown. In the city. First things first......we were looking for a cool, chill and relaxed place for lunch. The city was hopping. You would have thought that it was the weekend with all of the people strolling around. There was a Farmer's Market in the city square and the sights and smells of city living was pretty unbelievable. We parked the car and had just a delightful conversation with the parking attendant.

Us: Hi, how are you doing today?

Woman: Feeling extremely blessed. And you?

Us: Blessed.

Woman: Well I am having the best day. A man just gave me this rock. He told me that his kids collect rocks to give to people who help make a positive difference in their lives. And I got one. I got this rock and it has made me feel really special. Really blessed.

Us: Awesome! Thanks for sharing that story. So happy that your day is blessed.

Woman: Me too. Have a wonderful day.

Us: You too. And we will. Thanks!!!

Okay, for all of you who know me......I LOVE THESE KINDS OF PERSONAL EXCHANGES WITH COMPLETE STRANGERS. I am a fan of the non-fiction human interest story. If I ever accomplish my major photography goal, it will be to publish a book with a portrait photograph / personal story of different people on each and every page. I'd name it simply, "People".

Okay so back to date day. We walked through downtown and headed down towards the river. Crews were busy setting up huge tents and stages for our cities annual 4th of July celebration. People were jogging. Walking dogs. Riding bikes. Sitting in the grass reading books. Good positive energy. As we were walking by, my husband said, "This would be a cool shot of the bridge". So I whipped out my camera and had a few unrushed moments to capture the angle that I was envisioning in my mind.

We continued on towards our restaurant. A cute little place built on a series of docks on the river. Our table overlooked the water, the bridges, the sky scrapers, and the day was gorgeous. We sat down and immediately order two tall ice cold micro brew pints. This was date day. We were going to treat ourselves to the luxury of taking our time. About an hour later we ordered lunch and my wish came true. Tacos. Mahi Mahi tacos with mango salsa and guacamole. Oh had I died and gone to heaven....Fresh corn filled tacos and a couple of cold beers. Now that's my idea of a date day lunch.

Then my husband says to me, "I was thinking, do you want to stay downtown tonight?". "WHAT?? Of course I do". He just upped the excitement factor of date day to a whole new level.......

Date Day part 1 to be continued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.