Diptych

By diptych

signs

I took this photo during my lunch break at work and I was kicking myself for not taking the USB cord with me to work to transfer the pictures from the camera. But on the drive home, I saw something happen that was worth writing down.

There was an old woman standing by the side of the road. Her body was bent over, and it was clear that she couldn't stand straight even if she tried to. Her dress was a dark grey - from age, and dirt, and too many years worn day in, day out. I saw the man in the car in front of me roll down his windows and hand her some change. And I thought I'd do the same thing. So I quickly reached into my purse, grabbed some coins, and passed them to her. Luckily traffic was going so slow, it made no difference stopping those extra few seconds to pass the money out of the window to her. I glanced in my rearview mirror at her again and saw the man in the car behind me doing the same thing. It was like a chain reaction of kindness.

And it felt good to be a part of it.

View Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.