The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Use it up. Wear it out.

I shan't stop until I have that killer bee photo. Not an actual Killer Bee. Although I think they are getting pretty annoyed with me by now. But not enough to want to kill me.
I feel a bit like a ground-based WWll fighter pilot.

Talking of which, I read a most stunning account, last night, from one of the crew of a Short Sunderland being attacked by eight Ju 88s out in the Bay of Biscay. You'd think that eight heavily armed fighter bombers would make mincemeat of a lumbering flying boat but the Sunderland survived the encounter with one engine being shot off; fire, oil, blood and hydrulic fluid sloshing through the fuselage which was so twisted and full of holes that none of the doors inside would open or shut. All the crew were injured to some extent and one died but they crash landed back on the British shoreline and made it home.
Just two of the Ju 88s made it back to base. The remainder are lying at the bottom of the North Atlantic riddled with .303 bullets.
Most of the Australian crew of the Sunderland died in a subsequent operation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.