Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

The Adventurer

You are a passionate guy.

Okay...

Discuss this. What makes you tick?

I feel like I have grown to be a product of the environment that I grew up in. A place where my hobbies became jobs over the years. Guiding raft trips. Guiding fly fishing tours. Kayaking. I've been fortunate that my hobbies have allowed me to make a living. My life has been defined by this and the special opportunities that I have been given.

You are an incredibly gifted Kayaker. Talk to me about this.

Well, my life revolves around water. Every place I have moved to in my life has been based on the watershed in the area. From New Zealand to Colorado to where I am now, the water took me there. I am where I need to be when I am in my Kayak.

How do you feel when you are on the water?

At home. In my comfort zone. To me, a river is the most accurate model of life. When I am on the river, it allows me to be all kinds of places, emotionally and physically.

Do you ever fear the water?

Absolutely. I fear it all the time. I'll get 'Paddler's Anxiety' weeks before hitting a hard kayaking run. It's a good fear. A healthy fear. But once I'm on the water, it's go time and I do what I need to do. And I don't consider myself an extreme Kayaker. I don't need the fear in my life. Some guys need it. I like being with my friends where the possibility of an accident on the water is relatively low.

And fly fishing? Why do you enjoy it so much.

Being on the river fishing is a nice relief from paddling. A rod and reel gives me the chance to enjoy the quiet side of the river. Every river and stream is different and I love walking around a bend to find the most amazing river run or water hole. It's a sight that gets burned into my head. These are the things in life that are perfect. It forces me to stop and appreciate the beauty found in these remote places. And knowing that I have the ability to navigate down these rivers and streams means a lot to me. It's perfect.

Any last thoughts?

I get to observe perfection by having these intimate moments with nature. I am addicted to it. I can read water. I can see it and hear it. And I can feel it. It's a relationship. My ultimate passion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.