a town called E.

By Eej

This is not a hummingbird


Here's what happened:

I went outside with the tripod, the camera and other things I thought I might need on hummingbird-detail. Before I set up I went over to the tree. Yesterday I found an exo-skeleton (I think) hanging from the birdhouse and I wanted to see if it was still there. Emergency Blip and whatnot. I took some photos and then heard a bit of a rustle above my head. I looked up and saw a squirrel about a meter away, happily munching on a grape. The grapes were donated to whoever wanted them, because they were past their prime and while we didn't want them anymore, there might be birds or indeed, squirrels that did.
And boy, did he.
So badly he was willing to get closer than any squirrel had dared to go before.

Sure, he was yelling at me, but after a bit of yelling and scowling, he'd climb back up on the feeder, snag a grape and run up to the relative safety of a branch, just a bit further up. He'd eat it, start yelling at me again, and climb back on the feeder and back as fast as possible.

I was not moving.

But then he dropped his grape right in front of me. He looked down, and at me. I looked down, and then up at him, shrugged and said: "It's all yours!" and backed away.

There's no way I'm going to sit outside in the sweltering heat for a hummingbird when the universe so conveniently throws a squirrel in my lap, I am not that stupid.

There were two good shots but when seeing this one the Beloved said: THIS! and would not budge. So there you have it, my reputation is shot, I am totally whipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.