Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Those aren't fish fingers...

Today my mum, gran, sister and I went for an exciting experience. My dad had the sense to browse the local bookstore and completely disown us during it. But why would my dad want to disown us?

Well, we decided to go to a fish spa. When we arrived we washed all the sock fluff off our feet before submerging them in a tank of Garra Rufa Fish. These little fish have no teeth but gently suck and nibble away any dead dry skin off your feet. As soon your feet are in the tank the little fish are swarming around and beginning to nibble. At first it is a very odd tickling sensation and you wonder how on earth you're going to survive 15 minutes of it. During this initial phase those in the party under 30 maintained their cool and didn't flail around and shreek with laughter. Those over 30 however provided us with far more ammusement. Eventually though your brain blocks out the sensation and we settled down to watching the fish work away.

After our 15 minutes were up we raised our feet (shaking the fish off as we went), dried off and admired our lovely soft skin. You'd probably need a few treatments to get them really soft but there was a very obvious difference.

A great experience that I would certainly repeat!

We then headed in to town for lunch at Ego, where they bent over backwards to provide me with food that was acceptable for my intolerances. I'd highly recomend it if you're in Sheffield.

I've also done some backblipping this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.