Instography

By Instography

St Giles

Smithski's post yesterday reminded me that one of my favourite views of Edinburgh should now be back to normal but having wandered up from the station all I could see was a bloody parked car just where I wanted a nice open space for pedestrians to walk through. Never mind. Tomorrow maybe.

As I was wandering around taking random photos of small details of the buildings and railings I noticed that the St Giles Cathedral door was open. In I went. I'd not been in before, not being religious and not overly taken with the iconography but there it was all imposing and cavernous with the windows and the light and everything. Nice.

It was open because there's a service at 8am but the wee man in the white cassock, looking a bit jaded and his outfit more than a bit faded (needs some Daz whitening) told me that I was OK to take photos since, "hardly anyone will come".

Other than that, it was a day of drudgery, although I do seem to have become the office photographer. No money in it but I got to go down to the Parliament today and take photos in work time. Beats wrestling with the job costing system. More opportunities will follow.

In other news, Ewan got the wee card I sent him and was very happy to have mail. Simple pleasures. I wish I was that easily pleased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.