Twinkle

Life.
No matter what you throw my way, you won't extinguish the twinkle in my eye.

If fact, some days, you make it shine brighter.

Some days you cause it to flicker and fade a little.

But something always keeps it shining.

Twenty four hours and the light in my eyes has faded with the frustration of inevitable let downs. It has flared with anger at the failures of some to commit and to contribute. It has dimmed a little as I pondered on how someone who attempted, with big words and much volume, many moons ago, to take the moral high ground, could so easily abdicate responsibility.

In that same twenty four hours, the light has brightened as I have watched and listened to my boy talk with such animation about his first day back at school. It has glowed with pride at young people taking responsibility, showing commitment and behaving with maturity. It has glittered, full of emotion, when I consider my life, full of love and happiness, with my wonderful family. It has sparkled with the sharing of stories and moments, full of laughter, with people who I share my daily life with. It has shone with a little bit of glee at positive thoughts of the right decisions made and of karma coming to town.

There's more to life than money. Principles sometimes are not worth the hassle. Happiness and love are the most valuable things we can have. So, my twinkly eyes are going to shine because I am letting go of the soul suckers, and giving my energy to the people who share positively in my life.

The light has flickered with sadness for the lives of people I don't know today. In particular, close to home, the tragic (and most likely, un-necessary) death of a baby girl, less than a week old, in the town where I work. A child born, and for reasons unknown, abandoned, in the garden of strangers. Somewhere, a girl, or a woman, who for whatever reason, felt it necessary to leave their child to such a distressing fate. My mind keeps returning to the unknown woman, more likely younger - had they hidden the pregnancy, had they gone through the trauma alone, how desolate and desperate must someone feel to act this way - that the world is such a hostile place that a person feels there is no-one at all to support them. The light was hidden by silent tears this afternoon, that bubbled but were not shed, whilst colleagues shared with students the news and explained that the woman, or girl, would likely be at serious risk to her physical and mental health, and urged them to reflect on whether they knew who it might be. A hard task, done with sensitivity and listened to with due deference. I hope that she is found, so that she can be helped.

The light in my eyes needs to be recharged, so it's bath and sleep for now.

You guys are in my positive group. You make my eyes twinkle!

(Techie stuff - extender tube on 18-55mm lens, camera on tripod, led wall light held in front of lens facing my eye - the light has a hole approx 45mm in diameter - so single point centre focus on the lens, shot straight through the hole - it's not the best shot in the world, but I was playing about)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.