Evil cakes

Very very naughty.
Bad.
It's all Delia Smith's fault.
I used to make a cake from one of her very early baking books - a squidgy chocolate cake.
Not made it for years, but decided the other day to have a play around and see if the recipe would transfer over to individual cupcakes.
The answer is clearly yes.
I have made twelve of them. James and I have had 1 each. Corin's eating 1 now. Another is reserved for a friend tomorrow afternoon. The rest will probably not see Sunday morning!

Recipe?
I'll put it up tomorrow, but basically the chocolate sponge is a flour-less sponge - eggs, sugar and cocoa powder only - so it's amazingly light and fluffy. Then there's a homemade chocolate mousse (2 larges bars of Galaxy chocolate and 2 eggs). The tops of the cakes are sliced off as they come out of the over, because they drop a little which makes a perfect "well" to put a good dollop of mousse into. The top goes back on, a little more mousse, then lashings of freshly whipped cream, with chocolate shavings on the top.

Yum, yum in my tum!

It's my special treat, after having been to the Osteopath for the first time in 6 months, thinking that I needed maybe just a little manipulation, and discovering that my pelvis had dropped on one side, my spine had got all twisty and out of kilter, which is why I had the niggling pain in my shoulders and neck. She was gentle with me, and it didn't hurt - it never does - but the xylophone-like effect of my vertebrae popping is always a little disturbing (and satisfying in an odd way). Back again next week. I'm starting to ache a bit now so it's a hot bath before bed.

Night all
xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.