The blip next door

"Skip, get your camera, here's your blip," Bob called through our back screen door. Gulliver was barking, Bob was calling, and obviously something was happening in the backyard. My curiosity got the best of me, so I grabbed my camera, stepped outside, and there was this pug, tied to the apple tree in our neighbor's back yard, only five or six feet from our door. Just then a woman I didn't know walked out of the neighbor's house, carrying a food and water bowl for the pup, and the mystery was cleared up. She told me the dog's name is Dante. They had made a five hour drive down from Michigan to go to Cedar Point amusement park tomorrow and had just arrived. Gulliver wanted to go over for the usual, friendly, butt-sniffing protocol, but his Invisible Fence kept him in our yard, so all he could do was bark hello to the stranger next door. He was doing a really good job of that, but the pug just sat there staring at him.

It isn't often that my blip comes to me, but this time it did, so I figured I should take advantage of the serendipitous opportunity. As it turned out, Dante is the only thing I blipped today, so thankfully he is photogenic. Tonight we actually got some welcome rain. I hope it doesn't rain all day tomorrow and ruin their visit to Cedar Point, but we sure could use the rain. This has been a very dry summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.