The second half of life..

By twigs

Dereliction

Due to a teachers strike today I had a day of catch-up, r'n'r and blobbing!

One of my catch-ups was to call about a shed I was interested in looking at for the garden. The owner gave me permission to go and look more closely at it, explaining that the section it was on was behind a building that had recently been burned out by vandals and I'd need to go into this building to get to the shed.

Too good an opportunity to miss for the camera!

When I went into the building (through a hole that has been kicked into a wall!) I scared the living daylights out of a bunch of young kids who were obviously using it as a den.....quite possibly for nefarious activities judging by some of the beer cans and other junk lying around. Anyway, having scared them away I then had the burnt out building to myself - well, I actually had to share it with a couple of nesting swallows who in turn tried to scare me off, away from their nest!

In hindsight, I wished I'd asked the kids to stay and be part of my photos - their urban grunge really suited the dereliction of the building. We live and learn.

All in all a good day - though I don't think I'll follow up on the shed.

(See more detail in large)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.