Instography

By Instography

For the love of God - David

David is originally from New Zealand and is in Edinburgh to warn people that the Pope is coming to steal their hard fought freedoms. He's a Protestant and is in town with a few friends, some of whom were also distributing their newspaper The British Christian Crusader, while others filmed the distributing. I offered to take his newspaper if he would let me take his photograph and he was happy with the deal. I had passed them already so when I stopped the second time I fully expected to be drawn into a discussion about Christianity, which I generally find quite entertaining but David (and it later turned out, his friend) didn't seem to want to discuss anything: just warn me that my freedoms were at risk. Personally, I found that quite unsatisfactory. Indeed, overall, it was quite disappointing because he seemed vague, if not reticent about explaining which freedoms the Pope was going to steal and the precise mechanism by which this theft would be accomplished. Anyway, if you do find any of your freedoms missing, say by the weekend, you'll know who did it and remember that you heard it here first.

**
A few people commented on the lighting for yesterday's picture of E J (Superman) Harvey so I thought it might be useful if I explained what I did. The lighting came from a 12x12 softbox on the floor in front of her pointing up to cast those big shadows. I picked that up years ago in Jessops' bargain bin. Any old flash, lying on the floor pointing up would do if you could soften it. The rest was done in software using a combination of Nik Software's Colour Efex Pro and Viveza.

Efex - three filters - Darken/Lighten centre (does what its name suggests, makes the centre lighter and darkens the edges with the centre moved to Ellen), Pro Contrast (just makes colours go Pop!) and Dynamic Skin Softening which softens pixels with specific skin tones to make her look even more babyish while holding onto other details).

Viveza - selective adjustments of brightness and contrast to make the background even and darker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.