Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

O.K.C. : Day 2

Operation Kitchen Cabinets: Day 2

Day 2 of sanding. And it is looking like there will be a day 3 of sanding as well. I am confident that I will be able to finish all of the sanding by tomorrow. I've gotta finish this sanding by tomorrow. Because by tomorrow, I am going to be more than ready to move on to priming.

So Day 2 was productive. Started the day with a nice workout with my girlfriends and then of course, a very nice coffee date. Believe me, I am committed to this project, but I've also got to make time for some chats and laughs. Finding a nice balance in a project like this is half the battle.

The other half of the battle is finding "jobs" for our kids to do while these projects are going on.

"Mommy, can you hand me the power tool, I'm gonna help you take these doors down".

"Wooaaa, woooa, woooa buddy, no power tools. Why don't you use a screwdriver".

"Uuuu-hhhh, I want to use the power tools!!".

"Mommy uses the power tools. But the screwdriver is fun too".

"Not as fun as the power tools".
(He does have a point, but didn't get his way on this one)

And then there is my daughter.

"Mommy, too loud. Too loud" (noise from the sander)

Minutes later she comes walking into the kitchen with ear gear on. Compliments of my husband and proceeds to color with her markers in a notebook on the kitchen floor. My son got preoccupied with hammering some nails into a piece of wood in the garage while my husband was out there getting his sheets of wood organized for the pantry project.

And probably the most classic moment of the day was when I was squatting down removing screws from the cabinet doors and my son started jumping on my back yelling, "Huggy Mommy, HUGGY!!!!!"

We have finished early for the day. Time to get dinner on the table and night-time routines in order. This project has definitely turned into a family affair! One step at a time and things seems to run pretty smoothly around here. It's been crucial though that both of us are home this week. It definitely takes two to keep the kids occupied and entertained during this mini remodel. They love love love to help with projects so we are trying to get them as involved as possible and as safely as we can.

Hasta manana......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.