Moon

You wouldn't have guessed would you?

Long day, with much tidying and such like, but mostly an extraordinary amount of time setting up an analysis spreadsheet that I did last weekend, but was saved onto the memory stick that broke on Tuesday. The company who are recovering the data are suggesting mid-week, so unfortunately, as I need the information, I have to do it all again. That and a couple of other jobs. Fingers crossed for the rest of it being recovered, otherwise I really do have a bit of a nightmare on my hands.

James has had one of his friends round all day and it's sleepover night as well. They've been so good. They've gone out and played on the field, watched a bit of TV and played on the X-Box and on the computer. Not been an ounce of bother and they have played and shared so well. They are still awake, but not for long!

It's funny how we take things for granted and our own perceptions of our environment are very different from those of others. I think that James might have had a bit of a jolt today, and may perhaps appreciate that he is very lucky to have all of the material possessions that he has. His friend has asked me today whether we are really rich because we have so much 'nice' stuff and our house is 'really big and nice'. His reaction when he walked into James' room was "Wow" with a real sense of wonderment. Similarly when he saw the super cat flap in the living room, the TV and the fish tank. Certainly, from my own point of view, it has given me a bit of a reality check, that the transient chaos that we are currently experiencing is not significant in the overall scheme of things, because we DO have a lovely home, that we have lots of 'comforts' and, most important of all, we have a secure little family unit. So I am grateful for James' friend coming to stay because he has reminded me that I am priviledged and not 'hard done to' and has managed to convey this to me through his actions, despite my current grumpy hormonal angst!

Despite the work, it's been a lovely day really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.