Celtic Colours...

This annual festival here on Cape Breton Island is in it's 15th year I think! For the whole week there are many venues around the island offering the most amazing music - and lots of the musicians are from Scotland and Ireland!

I managed to get tickets (most of the concerts are sold out quickly!) for the 3 of us to a gig up in Glaze Bay, which was totally awesome! Chris Stout, a Shetland fiddler and Catriona McKay, a Scottish harpist. I can't begin to describe the experience....this music is in my bones and my soul.....it raised the hair on the back of my neck, andat times had me well up with tears....so beautiful. Here is a clip
from Youtube - this is one of their more exciting pieces! They played the first set with a group of wonderful string musicians, 7 in all! the second half comprised of them with another 5 musicians, all of whom where astonishing!

Each night from 11pm - 4-5 am......many of the musicians gather at the Gaelic College which is very close to us, the energy is high and the music is just wonderful....if you make it thro to the end, they serve breakfast!! After the concert we headed to the after hours gig and stayed till about 2 am.....there was no way i could have gotten past that time !

Again, one of the highlights for me was sharing this experience with Morgan. This music is all about my roots.....when i was young i was part of the high school scottish country dancing team! I loved it, everything about it....from the gorgeous white 'sticky out' dress with my tartan sash, to the soft black leather dancing shoes.....and of course the music. I had a hard time staying in my seat at the concert.....no dancing in the isles i'm afraid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.