Instography

By Instography

A layby on the A9

Not quite such an early start. I woke up and it was raining so I just went back to sleep, waking at 9am for a slow breakfast of fresh coffee with bacon and eggs. Packed up all my stuff and decided that I'd head down the road via the RSPB reserve at Vane Farm to see what this big lens would do with some birdies.

Driving down the road there were some nice views over the fields to the hills dusted with snow. This is just south of Dalwhinnie although I have no idea which hills it is. I should maybe dig out a map and check. Anyhow, I plodded down the road, only occasionally drifting over the speed limit but I was in no hurry.

The answer to the question about the lens is: not very much. It makes wee specks of bird slightly larger which might help for recognition but is no more satisfying photographically. 300mm might sound big but for wildlife, it's nothing.

Got home, unpacked and tidied away all my gear, hung my tent and my tarp up to dry and settled down to sorting through photos, chucking the dross and editing the (depressingly small number of) half decent ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.