Instography

By Instography

Rothiemurchus Forest

Up with the alarm at 6.30am, quickly dressed and headed for Loch Morar where a stop at the head of the loch would have a grand view of the sun rising over the hills/mountains around the north and east. Nice. At least it would have been nice if I hadn't, in the process of reversing as far as possible into the passing place I was planning to park in (tut tut), dropped the front wheel into a ditch. Erk. But that could wait. Got the camera set up on its tripod (with spirit level and everything) and then waited a bit to phone the rescue service at a more civilised hour. Took most of the photos with my phone under my chin as I tried to tell some poor lad in Chiswick (or somewhere like that) where I could be found.

Headed back for a late breakfast at the hotel and found that my room wasn't free that night - I'd have to move. Had a wee drive up to Maillaig (dump) so decided to head to Aviemore and camp at Rothiemurchus, stopping at a few places along the way for photos.

Got there and had the campsite to myself so I pitched up and then took a wander through the forest up to the start of the Lairig Grhu, although I didn't venture any further as the sun was already low and I hadn't even brought my head torch (fool).

Back to camp, quick tea and into the tent for the evening with my book (and a wee dram). And it's only six o'clock.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.