Instography

By Instography

Buachaille Etive Mor

Busy day. Wisdom would have suggested not going to the pub on Thursday night, still less watching This Week with a nightcap afterwards, especially when the plan was to pick up a hire car first thing on Friday morning, fill it with camping and camera gear and head north. But I did anyway.

Did my wee bit of work and headed off on the stroke of 12 in the pouring rain. Wisdom would have suggested not planning weekend of camping when the forecast was more or less persistent drizzle but I did anyway. Headed for Arisaig for no good reason other than that its there and I'd never been. Felt slightly sorry for the poor folk I passed at Tyndrum walking on the West Highland Way but not too much.

Had a wee stop at Glencoe to take this in spite of the rain. It's sort of for old times sake, having taken a similar one about 10 years ago on the weekend I'd rented an XPan. Still one of my favourite photos. I really like the sense of scale you get from the wee house. I wish the sky had been more interesting.

It was about 4pm by the time I got to Arisaig and a quick drive round confirmed that the campsites are pretty much just fields (and pretty boggy looking ones at that) so I checked into the Old Library and had a nice wee evening lying on the bed and reading. Set my alarm for 6.30am to catch sun-up.

At this point I realised that I hadn't planned this too well. Bought an OS map and had a look to see where I should be for sun-up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.