Family 6

By meganrose

Grandad Frank

A surprsing number of people attended Grandads funeral today. He was a quiet, funny, man with strong values and opinions. When my brother owned a Cafe in Ambleside he would come in and sweep the floor and became known to many of the regulars as 'Grandad Frank'.

I never heard him get angry or lose his patience. A Lancashire man to the bone, he used to tell us the sun shone more in Accrington than Ambleside. Today though it poured in both counties.

The vicar knew him well so gave a fitting service. He seemed genuinely sad, which was somehow comforting. After a short reading at the crematorium the curtains began to close and Farrah suddenly said 'Bye bye', as if she understood.

And now I say goodbye - I'd like to 'see you in a week or two', but now you are always with me.
Mx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.