An Octave

I did not know that.

Seven colours in a rainbow, seven notes in a musical octave.

Apparently, back in the day, Newton had only five colours listed in his rainbow's spectrum - Red, Yellow, Green, Blue, Violet - but he liked the analogy of seven to match the musical scale so slotted in Orange and Indigo to fit. Glad he did that. Roy G Biv's easier to remember than RYGBV.

Another stop at the bing and the sloping bench (it IS the bench, had a spirit level with me this time). It's open to the elements up there and pretty chilly but I can foresee a few refreshing stops being made up there over the winter to eat my ploughman's and take in the views. Come to think of it, I should maybe go for a more traditional 'pit-piece' that the miners round here would have had with them, which was generally some cheese between a couple of thick slices of bread spread with strawberry or raspberry jam. Mmmmm... maybe I'll just stick to the Greggs actually.

Wednesday done. Not long 'til Friday now.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.