Picture the scene

Just after blipping last night, I ran a bath for James. He said "I've got a few bites round my ankle".
Sharp intake of breath from me as I looked at them. In my head the voice went ...
"Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo"
as I realised they were chicken pox blisters.
"Take your shirt of James please"
Slightly panicked he asked why, but did as he was asked...and lo! Covered in spots he was.

Pants. Good timing for his first childhood illness (other than a cold!)

So, the mystery fever, headache and nausea is no longer a mystery - it would appear that James' illness 10 days ago was the pre-cursor for what is turning out to be a spot-fest of some merit! Right now, he doesn't appear to be poorly at all, and as yet, he is not experiencing major itching, although I am sure that is imminent. New spots have appeared throughout the day, but they are being good spots and staying below his neckline (fingers crossed, so far, so good). Loads on his back and legs. Odd ones elsewhere.

I told him that he has to avoid touching them, and that he must wash his hands before going to the loo, as well as afterwards. He asked why - so I asked him, in a typically forthright mummy manner "Do you really want those on your todger?" I'm guessing not seeing as he is washing his hands!

He just giggles when I put the calamine on him - "it tickles, Mum!"

So, he's in quarantine, and as a result, so am I. However, he will be doing some work whilst he is off - quick phone call to his school tomorrow will sort that out!

Me - I'm feeling my usual guilt that I will be missing time from work - and we don't even go back until Wednesday. I have done 8 hours work on spreadsheets today to assuage my guilt. Tomorrow - more of the same, and some coursework marking. My colleagues can rest assured that when I am not administering calamine lotion and providing sustenance for my itchy boy, I will be working, and not sitting watching crap daytime telly. Corin might even get fed properly for a couple of nights this week.

PS: BIG thank you to Fisherking for going into school for me today, during his penultimate day of holiday, to collect the mountain of coursework from my desk that I had intended to go in and mark today. Very much appreciated - you are a top mate indeed. Hope you weren't too late for your meeting tonight. Was nice to have half an hour to chinwag with you both over a coffee.
xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.