Northern Exposure

By Northern

Old school cookin'

I'm not quite sure how I ended up with this book. It belonged to my Aunt Jean, who wasn't really my aunt, I think she was my Granny's cousin. Anyway, somehow it found it's way into my hands and I love it.

Not sure when it was published, mine is a second edition with no date, but according to the preface the profits went to charity. Which probably explains why it is generously sprinkled with wonderful adverts, I guess those payed for the publishing

It's one of those books that when you think 'How on earth do you make that?', you can be pretty sure it will be found within the unassuming covers of this little book. I was looking for a recipe to use up a tin of treacle today, and of course I found many, but got so engrossed in the book I never got round to making anything. There are recipes in there for the weirdest things, from Invalid soup (I think I would have rather died than eat it) to Sweet haggis, Roman Catholic Pie* to Furniture Polish.

*I have no idea of the religious significance but I can tell you that as far as I can make out no Roman Catholics are included in the recipe

I think I may blip some more of these in the next few days, but in case you're in the mood for an old time midnight snack - tonight's offering is....

Toast and Water
from the Miscellaneous section (between Salted Almonds and Toffee)

1 slice of bread
1 thin slice of lemon

Toast the bread very carefully till it is a rich brown colour; cut it in pieces.
Put the lemon in a jug, pour on it 3 breakfastcupfuls boiling water, then drop in the pieces of toast, and stand to get cold.



If anyone out there has ever tasted this delicacy, or is brave enough to try it I'd love to hear what it tastes like. I doubt very much I will ever pluck up the courage. Then again I may experiment on the kids...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.