Northern Exposure

By Northern

Old style cookin' - part 2

It's taken me a couple of days to I finally got round to the next installment of my Ayrshire Home Cookery Book blips. As you were all so keen to try my Toast & Water recipe, I thought tonight you might all be in need of some...

Invalid Soup
1/2 pint beef tea
1 dessertspoonful of crushed tapioca or sago (bet that got your mouth watering)
2 egg yolks

Boil the tapioca in a little water until clear. Strain it and put it in the beef tea, which should be made warm. Add the egg yolks and cook slightly. Season and serve.

And once you feel better you can make some of this to celebrate...

Maraschino
(I had no idea this was anything other than something to do with cherries)
Take the rind of 12 Seville oranges and 5 lemons (cut very thin), and add 3 lbs loaf sugar. Steep in 1 gallon Hollands gin for 4 days and nights, stirring frequently. Strain through blotting paper to clear, and bottle.

I was impressed by the shear fact that this uses a gallon of gin. But the best bit is the recipe also includes a poem -

Yesterday is gone, to-morrow may not come,
The past is over and the future dumb;
The wisest know not which may come to pass,
Be merry now and each man fill his glass.

Mrs Arthur, Lainshaw



Anyone want to borrow my recipe book? I bet someone out there needs to know how to cook a Sheep's Heed!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.