Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Adventure

And the Adventure Starts Here:

After my eventful day of mishaps yesterday, I was happy to help load our bags and snuggle our family in the car and head out for a little road trip. Off to my sister's house we go......

We enjoyed our drive through the mountains and over the snow. It was very cold and crisp outside and we were thankful for our heated car, nice music, and good conversation. We stopped at an old traditional donut shop. A donut shop that my husband and his family stopped at every time they drove up the mountain to go skiing. It was delightful. The donuts were amazing and way too big. Back in the car, our daughter sang songs and then fell asleep. Our son played his little game boy and fought the urge to sleep because he didn't want to miss seeing all of the snow.

When we pulled up to my sister's house, it was a winter wonderland. A half an hour later, we were all dressed from head to toe in our winter ski gear and spent the afternoon sledding with the kids. Up and down the hill. Over and over again. I took a lot of video with my new blip camera and took this still photo with it as well. The wide angle lens is such a nice feature. Our daughter headed back in the house with my Dad after being outside for ten minutes because she didn't want to wear her gloves and her hands got cold. Ten minutes later, she wanted to join the kids again with gloves and ended up having a marvelous time. She was speeding down the hill wooohooo'ing with the kids and having the time of her life. Then we got all three kids on the same sled. Took a million pictures. My sister and her family squeezed onto the same sled and I took what we all believe at this point will be her Christmas card photo. One of the cutest pictures yet!

We gathered around the table for an Enchilada Chicken Soup. Heavy on the cilantro. A dollop of sour cream. Spicy hot sauce. Basket of chips. A nice glass of wine. Perfection. And then we dug into the pumpkin pie. I brought an extra pumpkin pie because it my favorite dessert of all time as well as my brother-in-law's favorite pie. I walked into the house with it and said, "guess what we get to start eating today". His huge smile told me that the idea was a hit. Why wait for Thanksgiving day to dig into Costco's famous pumpkin pie. We didn't waste any time. Shortly after dinner, the pumpkin pie and whipped cream was out on the counter and that first bite was oooo sooo savored.

Tomorrow, our whole family will gather with my sister's in-law family and all of the aunts, uncles, and cousins will be together. A special family dynamic we have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.