horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

No Apologies

I make no apologies for yet another Waxwing blip. They're fabulous birds. I'd arrived at my desk this morning and looked out the window to see a flock of 300-400 murmurating away before disappearing over the building. Later on in the distance I could see them perched at the top of the trees in Drumsheugh Gardens, and as luck would have it they were still there at lunchtime.

Of course the light was horrible and they were a distance away, until... Walking round one side they descended en masse to try and get the last few remaining berries from one tree, and the sheer weight of numbers on this branch dipped it over the path just yards in front of me. Click click click. Job done.

And then carrying on the walk down to the Water of Leith, what should pop by but a Kingfisher... Naturally I had just been watching a Grey Wagtail make its way down the water, so was completely taken by surprise by the Kingfisher, so the only shot that could have rivalled the Waxies for the blip today was robbed from me. I wandered down the river scouring for where he might be, and did catch sight of him once more, even more briefly than before.

A stakeout is planned for tomorrow.

In other news Newcastle have appointed Alan Pardew in place of Chris Hughton. I can't even begin to tell you how little that inspires me with confidence for our upcoming match with Liverpool....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.