Instography

By Instography

The spirit of Christmas present

Not the most exciting day at work and not the most inspired day of photographing. Christmas is intruding, needing attended to, sensibly taking priority lest I wake on Thursday snowed in again and unable to make my tiny contribution to the present buying, finding myself at the village shop on the 24th buying Mandy a Scotsman calendar and a packet of potato scones for Christmas. That would not be wise. And no fun. I like buying presents. It's the next best thing to buying stuff for me. Sometimes the two coincide.

This evening Ewan's Beavers Christmas party was cancelled because it was a wee bit icy on the path to the scout hut (I kid you not. Has no one heard of grit, salt and a shovel? Does Be Prepared mean nothing to these people?) so Mandy brought him and Ellen into Edinburgh to see the lights, have a play on the rides and have a burger or a hot dog. Something mechanically recovered. And much enjoyed it was too. By them at least. All I could see was a variety of mechanisms for fleecing tourists. I mean, £4.50 for a dried up burger with a grating of the cheapest cheddar? Bah humbug. £2.50 for a styrofoam cup of burnt filter coffee? No ta. Cheap wine with spices and no alcohol in it: that'll be £3 please. What the fuck??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.