On Thick Ice

Spring is in the air!

It's an amazing feeling coming out the arse end of a hideous bout of flu and this morning, after a great night's sleep, and without hacking up a lung before my feet hit the floor, it felt like I'd done just that. Full of the joys of spring and even the murk outside couldn't dampen that.

Started with a trip to the barbers with a reluctant Euan where the tales of doom and gloom and flu epidemic couldn't dampen my spirits. Then it was on to collect my kilt hire for our Hogmanay Ball in Glasgow which, up until yesterday, was looking like it might have been a sorry affair. Now, the party's on!

Felt I was going around like a mad grinning goon as I took Euan for a refreshing slide across the ice and meltwater here. Even managed a good nag at the kids before they headed off to take their Christmas presents out to their Gran's, a sure sign that things are getting back to normal (managing to deliver the presents and the nagging bit).

Now sitting down with a big glass of pear cider waiting on the slow cooker to serve up something tasty.

For all those out there that may be going through this 'seasonal' flu you really do have my utmost sympathy; this has not only been one of the strangest Christmases I can remember, it's also been a unique experience in that each and everyone of us in the house has went through the same over the past ten days.

Here's to good health!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.