a town called E.

By Eej

This photo ...


is coming from inside the house.

I've never seen that "when a stranger calls" movie, but I'm familiar with the concept. Which is why I never wanted to see it (makes sense, yes?) Unfortunately, some of the creepiness must have been slumbering in my subconscious because I had a hell of a nightmare during the night and it was related to stuff in that movie.
I woke up with the voice of the Beloved over my own muffled screams.
And then laid awake for what seemed hours.

*sigh*

But the rest of the day was lovely. I made 'oliebollen' and appelflappen', which lose their appeal in translation (oilballs! appleflaps! Well, I guess the flaps doesn't sound too bad), but resemble funnelcake/elephant-ears in deep fried goodness. I researched New Years traditions and came across this:
"For that reason (that is; eating round things to round of the year), the Dutch believe that eating donuts on New Year's Day will bring good fortune."
I've been Dutch for 44 years and have never heard that. Unless they just didn't want to make an effort translating oilballs into something that sounds less barf-worthy.

Anyway, I have my new lens and am trying to get to grips with it. It has Image Stabilistion, but as is evident from this photo, I need practise. And maybe not have a dirty window between me and the red-bellied woodpecker. And better light because at 4 it was pretty much dark. I had to play around with it a lot to make it look a bit less shitty. Still: I was INSIDE and got a photo of a recognisable bird! I am HUGELY excited!

I'm also excited for 2011. 2010: bite me.

Wishing everyone the happiest of happy brand spanking new year's!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.