Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Lazer Tag

"Hey Mommy guess what....you wanna know what is so awesome???, Daddy is gonna take me to do Lazer tag. And you have to be FIVE YEARS OLD to do Lazer Tag and I AM FIVE NOW"

Hearing the excitement in my son's voice over Lazer Tag about made my eyes fill with tears. It was so cute. Who knew that he had been waiting to turn five so that he could go and play Lazer Tag. Like I said, he is growing up right before our eyes.

My husband and his best friend took the three boys out for the afternoon in honor of our son's birthday. The first stop was McDonald's (the boy's favorite lunch treat) and the second stop was Lazer Tag. And my husband said that watching our son play this game was one of the cutest things he has ever seen. He said that during the introduction of the rules, our son looked at him with huge eyes and said, "Daddy, there are a lot of rules....I don't think that I am going to be able to remember all of these rules". He said that his little vest was so big that it went down to his knees but that being in that Lazer Tag outfit made our son feel so cool and so good about himself. He said that he was beaming with pride at finally being old enough to join the other boys for tag. He had the time of his life playing with his buddies and pretending to be stealth and sly while jumping out of the way of all of the lights and lazers. I can just picture all of his little expressions in my head.

They all came back to the house afterwards and the three boys ran in shouting and laughing and reliving all of the events of the afternoon. They all play so well together and I was so happy that my son was able to experience this with them. For the rest of the afternoon, they played Star Wars and Army. And our daughter was in the middle of the mix the entire time. Now she can't wait until she turns five so that Daddy can take her to go play Lazer Tag. A very fun day for the kids and day two of 'Birthday Celebrating'. Tomorrow will be day 3 as our son will be honored at his preschool with a little birthday party. We'll be bringing in donuts for the class first thing in the morning. And the party continues to go on......and on........and on! Happy Birthday my buddy!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.