The way I see it.

By christinePears

Fulmars

Todays blip didn't just involve a quick walk round the boating pond like yesterdays although the photo is very similar!

I went out to Duncansby head which is the very most north easterly point on the Scottish mainland where there are magnificent cliffs and stacks which many sea birds use for nesting. I had a very educational time taking shots of lots of birds in flight but I obviously have to read up more on that subject as most of them did not appear in any photographs!

So I settled for these 2 Fulmars. At least they were sitting down and seemed quite agreeable to having their photo taken. The fulmars appeared to be pairing up and going through courtship rituals with lots of defending of potential nesting sites going on. I must go back when there is a bigger variety of birds - last year I saw puffins and need to get some shots of them.

It was a soft grey, mild afternoon and it was delightful to be perched on a rock watching the birds so closely. Just had to watch my footing as there was a mighty tidal current rushing past the foot of the cliffs and it was quite disconcerting to see the sea rushing past instead of surging back and forwards as it usually does!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.