Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Channelling Some John Davies

Very very badly. Okay, maybe not so much "channeling John Davies" and maybe more "stuck for a blip, late to meet someone, and it's dark out. Oh, there's a well-lit white building and I have few building blips (or images at all) I'll photograph that."

Sorry John.

Backblipping this one as I was too busy yesterday. Whew, what a week. It seems everyone I know in Liverpool decided to schedule their social events all in the same just-more-than-a-week period. As a result, I've been vagabonding and out all over town of late. I'm bloody knackered now. I need a nice quiet sleep.

I love John's work. I think at the moment, my favourite work by him is his latest project on waste disposal sites in the North West, and his 2008 work in Japan. The Japan series is one I'm really fond of. That said, his earlier work is phenomenal, I'm just in a "new work" phase right now.

In other news...

My bus series has a flat tire. By "flat tire" what I actually mean is I've been feeling uninspired ever since the weather broke and I lost the coldness that was making the work interesting going into the end of last year. It will continue, but the images I've made of late have felt rather forced by comparison, so I'm thinking of putting it all on a shelf and just getting out there whenever the temperature really drops. The good thing about this is that I do have a lot of images already - I plan to get cheap work prints of these made and my temporary hiatus can be part-spent on the editing process. I'm near enough to the end to make good progress on that.

Gotta dash.

Back - sorry, had to take a phone call.

The jazz series also continues, although I am finding my favourite images are the less literal ones. I'm a little torn here - they're my friends, so I wan to show them good images of themselves, yet I prefer the more abstract images. My favourites two images so far are probably this and this. Maybe I'll pursue that more now, maybe I'll just grow to appreciate the other images more.

Either way, with the bus project on partial hold, I'm now thinking about starting a fresh project. I definitely want to get back out shooting more street work, but I'm also thinking of either a rather abstract visual project, or something involving landscape work. I've spent a fair bit of time looking at both these kinds of work, and I feel I should try them out. I feel I'm ready. So don't be surprised if the general nature of blips from me changes a little in coming months. Whichever one I choose, it will likely progress a lot more slowly than the bus series.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.