horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Verminosity

Words later....

Right. It's later...

Other choices were this or this but I liked the focus on the nose and the paws here. Reminds me of my toast eating squirrel of a couple of months ago.

Lunchtime wander digesting being ignored some more on advice to the bosses on how to follow the correct procedure for redundancies. Actually, not entirely ignored. I finally got a response to my email of Friday morning, with a boss going completely on the defensive and thinking that, rather than trying to protect the company's position and offering practical advice seeing as it's clear they took no legal advice whatsoever before deciding to close the office, I was making 'accusations' that had to be 'refuted'. I replied in conciliatory terms, making sure it was clear that this was 'advice', pure and simple.

A few hours later an email to the finance manager to send out two of the redundancy confirmation letters, riding roughshod over my advice, was sent and I can only offer a Gallic shrug. I've tried. I've done my job. The last twelve months has seen them confidently failing to do theirs, hence the situation we're now in. I know I'm not going to win this one.

Everyone I speak to (friends and colleagues) about the way they are going about things reacts with the same, er, reaction. Disbelief. That's all. Disbelief that they can be so blinkered, that they will brush aside practical legal advice, that they didn't seek such advice before such a monumental decision affecting the futures of a lot of people, and that after making the announcement they would head off around the world (during our so-called 'consultation period') for two weeks to reassure employees in our Abu Dhabi office that their jobs are safe (letting all us in Edinburgh know that this is what they were doing) and being very very difficult to get hold of to 'consult'. Although the response today stated that they had been available constantly on email and on phone.

Erm. Seriously. Try listening to your employees. Even if they are about to become ex. In short, you're speaking bollocks. Great big hairy wrinkly bollocks. I could write about 3 times as much (and more) on what they're doing, and what they've done wrong.

It's astonishing. Truly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.